My interview on Consider This about opting out

What a whirlwind of a week. I started the week with a sense that it would be a huge week when the reality of what opting our child out really hit home on Tuesday morning.

I wasn’t wrong.

It was a thousand percent the right decision for my child and the other 1.1 million kids in public school I was and continue to advocate for with other concerned parents.

The press heard our concerns and broadcasted them far and wide.

Parents opted their kids out the day of the test because they realized that their kids are not the problem- high stakes tests are the problem. What an empowering week!

There is so much more work to be done. My next phase of this work will be to bring the voices of children of color and low income children, and those who work with them to the forefront of this conversation. We need to shine a spotlight on those who are deeply negatively affected by high stakes tests and who don’t have many resources & support to fight back.

For now, I leave you with this link to an excerpt of an interview I did on Consider This (Al Jazeera America).

I was very impressed with the staff at this station and have been more impressed with the news stories I’ve seen them cover the past few days.

We need more balanced, unbiased news reporting that gives people more than empty sound bytes!

Leave a Reply

