*In My Kitchen: ginger cranberry sauce with raw honey*

I don’t know about where you are but in Brooklyn it’s been the gentlest, kindest fall I can remember. It’s warmer than usual, but the leaves are gloriously beautiful in all their colors and the light is shortening. It feels like fall without being rainy or cold, which is perfect to me.

I’ve been attracted to typical fall foods these days like sweet potatoes, all manner of squashes, cooked kale & Swiss chard (I prefer to eat them raw or in smoothies during the warmer months).

The other day my husband went shopping and brought home a bag of cranberries for some odd reason (we usually buy them once a year, at Thanksgiving). I decided to make a fall inspired dinner last night which included turkey thighs well seasoned and cooked in the crockpot, steamed kale, sautéed Swiss chard, gluten free pasta and cranberry sauce. The gluten free pasta was an odd choice but we were out of rice and I have two family members that feel like a meal is in collet without a grain or carb.

Anyways, I usually find all cranberry sauce too sweet so this time I decided to try making it with raw honey to see if it was less sweet and still flavorful.

20131021-090209.jpg
That’s the bag of cranberries I used.

20131021-090250.jpg
That’s the brand of raw honey I used.
I followed the directions on the bag somewhat:
I added the bag of cranberries, 1 cup of water, and 3/4 cup of raw honey to a pot.
Then I added a couple slices of freshly peeled ginger, about 10 whole allspice and 3 sticks of cinnamon.

I let it come to a boil, but guess what? I didn’t hear any popping of the cranberries like I normally do. I wonder if the liquid nature of the honey changed how the process usually happens.

This is what it looked like as it came to a boil:

20131021-090603.jpg

The verdict?
*My 8 year old LOVED it. He had seconds and thirds of it.
*My husband thought it was too sweet, but flavorful. Interesting since I already cut the sweetener by 1/4 cup.
*I agreed with them both. I thought I was too sweet AND I loved the flavors. The sweet and tart together along with the rest of the food made me feel very ‘fall’ and content.

I will try it again with less honey and I’d love to know if you have advice or suggestions for healthy variations on cranberry sauce.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

