Self care: acupuncture

Acupuncture is something that I’ve always been intrigued by but never done. I think cost was the major barrier. I could go once at $75/session, but repeatedly? Not so much.

I was so excited to learn of and get good recommendations for a community acupuncture place in my neighborhood. For the last 9 months I’ve gone to get acupuncture treatments for various issues including migraines, a cold, and more recently, a virus I was battling last week.

I love the quiet resting state my body goes into when I’m sitting there with the needles in. I always feel different when I walk out than when I came in.

Last week, as I was resting with the acupuncture needles, I focused my attention on a friend who was awaiting rest results for her son, who was
recently diagnosed with a potentially serious illness. It felt so nice to meditate on the child and envision him surrounded with love and light. I am happy to report that once my acupuncture session was finished, my friend texted me that her son was given a clean bill of health.

I also felt better physically when I left the session. If I hadn’t been so busy the following few days, I would have gone in for repeat treatments as I relapsed again with sickness this week.

This picture reminds me that self care (not just acupuncture, of course) is not optional. It’s essential to healthy living.

20130909-214555.jpg

What have you done to do take care of yourself today?

Leave a Reply

