*In My Kitchen* White bean soup with squash and sweet potatoes

This is a re-post  of a recipe I created in 2010.  So glad I found it again! I am going to make this for dinner tonight and I will post a pic on my Instagram feed. I’m curious to know if my almost 8 year old will like it as much as he did 3.5 years ago! This soup is perfect as we transition from summer to fall.

My family has been recently eating a lot at a vegan Thai restaurant and we all really enjoyed this soup but realized that it’s really simple and so I made it. It came out good according to my 4.5 year old who consumed 4 consecutive bowls, and a few others who sampled some…

Use whatever quantities you like…I didn’t really measure. Oh, and everything was organic.

Ingredients:

Butternut squash

Sweet potatoes

onions

various sweet peppers

garlic

vegetable stock

bay leaf

sea salt

pepper

fresh thyme

scotch bonnet pepper (can sub jalapeno)

can of beans (white/navy)

olive oil

fresh cilantro (optional)

Recipe:

Chop onion, peppers and saute in olive oil on a medium low flame until onions are translucent, stirring occasionally, about 10 minutes.

Add chopped garlic to onions and peppers and saute for another minute or so, careful not to burn garlic.

Drain beans, add to pot along with seasonings (except scotch bonnet pepper) and stir for a bit. Add sweet potatoes, squash and stock.

 At this point, I transferred everything (adding scotch bonnet/habenero pepper) to a crock pot and cooked it on low for 4 hours as we frolicked on an Upstate farm. If not using a crockpot, bring to a boil in stovetop pot, then reduce flame and cook for about 20 minutes or until potatoes and squash is cooked.

Serve into bowls and add chopped cilantro to the bowl.

  • Be careful not to burst open the scotch bonnet pepper otherwise it will be very hot. Left whole, it adds a nice flavor.
  •  Remove bay leaf before serving.

I bet this soup would be great with a dash of coconut milk added towards the end of cooking. 

Let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

