In my kitchen

I have decided to start sharing my adventures in cooking here so I will try to do that on Mondays with posts titled ‘In my kitchen’.

I love to cook and have been teaching myself many new things about food & cooking over my adult life. I like to read cookbooks and recipes and I ask other good cooks for the fine details about their craft so I can continuously improve. I often tell people “Cooking is my therapy.”

In my case, with a dairy allergy (for me and Esperto) and a desire to be “gluten light” that means the large majority of what I cook is dairy free and gluten free (DFGF).

I hope that by sharing some of my dishes, I can help other families and individuals who are looking to enjoy delicious foods that won’t make them feel deprived because they can’t eat 2 major food groups. Because I’m a busy working mom, I also try to create meals in 30 minutes or less. I hope you enjoy!

    Coconut mango lime salsa

As soon as I started my vacation in Florida (which is almost over), I was compelled to make a dish that tapped into one of my favorite tropical fruits- the mango. My family went to a local farmer’s market on Sunday morning and I bought an organic mango & a bunch of cilantro for $1 in eager anticipation of tonight’s salsa.

Ingredients
1 medium sized mango, sliced into small cubes
2 handfuls of grape tomatoes, cut into 8ths
1/2 sweet onion, minced
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped fine
Juice of 1 fresh lime
1/2 red bell pepper, diced
1/2 scotch bonnet (habañero) pepper minced (DO NOT USE THE SEEDS Unless you like fiery hot salsa)
Approximately 2 Tablespoons organic unrefined coconut oil
Salt & freshly ground black pepper to taste
1 teaspoon raw agave nectar (or raw honey)* (optional)

Recipe
1. Combine all ingredients in a medium sized bowl and stir together.

2. Taste a small amount to see if you want to add more of any of the salt, pepper, lime juice or oil.

3. Let salsa sit on counter (out of the fridge, or else the coconut oil will solidify) for at least an hour, preferably three.

4. Serve salsa over pretty much anything- such as grilled salmon or tofu, baked chicken, or flank steak.

Let me know in the comments if you have any questions about the recipe, or to let me know how yours turns out.

20130811-234322.jpg

Leave a Reply

