Spring break camps

Most working parents loathe school breaks not because they dislike their children, but because the struggle to find childcare during school breaks is stressful. And often expensive.

I have the good fortune of having a ‘village’ in my life where I can work creatively with family, friends and neighbors to cobble together fun times for my son (& full days of care for me) when he’s off from school. At times I can also take him to work with me and rely on his intense love of telling people what to do teaching others to keep him entertained at the preschools I work with.

I do like to learn about interesting day and break-long programs that exist so that we have options just in case he wants to do a more structured program on a day off. One program that we are considering for part of an upcoming break is Spoke the Hub Spring Green Multi-arts Day Camp. I love the way they begin the day more than anything!

• 9:30am – Moving Green
Campers begin each day, aiming to grow healthy bodies and minds, through dance, yoga and mindfulness meditation practice

Have you ever signed your child up for a ‘break’ camp? What was it like? Did you find it worth the cost?

Would love to hear your experiences.

5 thoughts on “Spring break camps

  1. This is my first year sending my 7 year old to a all day long spring break camp. I have sent my daughter to 4 hour a day Yoga Camps and they are wonderful. She went when she was five and six. How old is your child?

    • Hi there! My son is 7 and a half. He went to a yoga camp on Election Day this past November and he loved it. It’s a nice opportunity to try out different programs on a short term basis, I think. Do you mind sharing which Yoga camp your daughter went to? I love to see what the different programs are out there. Thanks!

      This email was co-authored by my iPad.

  2. We routinely do spring break camps. Usually, we just do one or two days, which is enough for my seven year old. Usually we pair up with a friend’s parent and it becomes somewhat of a supervised playdate. We have done one day at the Intrepid camp, http://www.intrepidmuseum.org/Education/Camps.aspx; one day at ACT camp at St. Johns the Divine, and this year we are doing one day at worldplay camp in Forest Hills. http://www.world-play.org/home.html And most likely ACT again for one day–I like their outside program days so we usually do one of those. I think spring break camps are a great option for working parents and find it affordable. I stay in the range of $50-70 per day.

Leave a Reply

