Stress less…now!

Lately I’ve been reading about, thinking about and experiencing my fair share of STRESS.  The experience of stress is certainly not unique to me, considering the challenging times most of the world is living in. 2012 has been an intense year on many levels.

Stress has an enormous impact on our brains, bodies, emotions and our relationships with ourselves and our children.  I have (for the first time in my life) become obsessed with finding healthy ways to relieve my stress and actually DOING these things on a regular basis.  The first thing I’ve been good about is exercising a minimum of 4 times a week (an hour+ each time). 

I don’t need to tell you how and why exercise is good for relieving stress, do I?

The other thing I’ve been doing is meditating and doing guided relaxation. I will do a subsequent post on more specifics around meditation, but for now, I wanted to let you know about this wonderful set of CDs and books produced by Stress Free Kids.  I was introduced to this by Nikolai Pizarro, author of Ring the Alarm.  I purchased a bundle for the day cares I work with so I could see how the CDs were for young children and adults.  They are lovely.  My son began listening to the Indigo Dreams bedtime relaxation CD and he immediately began to fall asleep more peacefully and more soundly.  On the first day! He requests this CD so regularly, I have to purchase a set for my home.

I was so excited to see the adult relaxation cd and I regularly take 20 minutes out of my day to listen to it. I feel refreshed and renewed after I listen to these CD and if I don’t have 20 minutes, I pull up the mindfulness app on my phone and sit for 5 minutes focusing on my breathing.  It sounds so simple, but it really works.  

Parents and caregivers, we all know that if a plane is going down, we put the breathing masks on ourselves first and then attend to our children.  The constant stress we are being subjected to these days is pretty much like a plane going down. 

What will you do to make sure you’re breathing deeply, alert and ready to take care of others?

Leave a Reply

