Related to “good schools”…a “not so good” summer camp

So sorry for the long absence here. I am trying to find the balance between doing important work for children and writing/blogging/tweeting about doing important work for children. Perhaps I can clone myself and do a better job at the social media piece 😉

I am writing to share with you a negative experience my family had with a summer camp this past June. We are involved in a legal case with the camp, so I am being careful to refer to absolute facts, but suffice it to say, this was a sad experience for me- given what I know good education to look like.

I have a different standard for summer camp than year round school, but that standard is not lower; it’s just different. I wrote a review of the camp which appeared (albeit in slightly messy formatting) here: http://parkslopeparents.com/index.php?option=com_sobi2&sobi2Task=sobi2Details&catid=29&sobi2Id=4487&Itemid=212

I wanted to share this with you for two reasons: first, I want to make sure that anyone who is considering this camp for their child in future years is aware of what they may be dealing with (although I hope that their interactions with us will be an impetus for improvement, because I did offer free constructive advice before things became contentious).

Secondly, I want those of you who are parents to know that it’s important to trust your instincts around what you feel is best for your child. When you leave your child in the care of others, if you feel unsettled, don’t suppress that feeling. Ask questions, demand answers, spend more time there, and be in constant communication. Your standard for your children should not be “Is she/he being harmed?” or “It’s ok.” In an ideal world, you should leave your child in a childcare setting feeling “I’m comfortable and this is a good (or great) place for my child.”

Have you ever left your child in a childcare setting that didn’t feel “right” to you? How did you deal with it? What was the outcome?

Leave a Reply

